Ramblings on September

Standard

Another gap in writing but I’ve been busy working and traveling and ‘aunting’ to this sweet peanut. A very cute and cuddly excuse for being absent, indeed!

This post is part of the second link-up party hosted by A Chronic Voice. Check out how to participate here!

 Just a little stream of consciousness from me as I’m sitting on a train, trying not to fall asleep, on what I’m focused on resisting, learning, struggling, supporting and changing.

Resisting: it’s my birthday in 10 days and for some reason, my birthday always gets me down. I think, for me, a birthday is a yearly reset, an assessment of what I intended to do for the 365 days that I was the age I am and unfortunately, I always dwell on what I didn’t get done vs all I did. I’ve gotten particularly tough on myself since having RA because for some stupid reason, I feel the need to be everything to all people.  A standard that would be unattainable even with no chronic illness.  So I will be RESISTING the urge to do this and instead focus on simply being present: enjoying the phone calls and texts I get from people who care about me and enjoying a nice dinner with dear friends.

Learning: I’ve had a bike for a little over a year now and I’ve ridden it less than 5 times. Most recently, my excuse is that it’s been hot. But for serious, the real reason is because relearning how to ride a bike is surprisingly *not* like riding a bike like everyone says. Especially with RA and the fears of getting hurt layered on. So I will be working on learning on how to really ride a bike with RA.

Struggling: Exercise and nutrition. Y’all. I’m lazy and eat like crap right now. True story: I’ve been working out twice a week with a trainer since June…and gained 5 pounds. Who does that? This girl. How? Because I get hooooongry. And I’ve never met a pizza I don’t like. So I am going to struggle with making better nutrition choices and struggle to push myself to be more active.   I have better disease control and sleep when I’m better with these two things.

Supporting: I’ve been doing some research online about Harvey and recovery efforts. I’d like to find a way to support chronically awesome folks who have been affected by Harvey.  I imagine that chronically ill patients have some very specific needs outside of what may be provided.  Any suggestions?

Changing: Hmmm, I’m constantly changing. But the change I’m most excited about now is that we are ‘changing’ to FOOTBALL season. Go Panthers! Keep pounding!

3 responses »

  1. Look at all the hair on that little kiddos head. I love being an aunt.
    We are always changing and regrouping. RA just throws another spoke on the wheel. Onward into football season!

  2. Thank you for participating in the “September 2017 Linkup Party for People with Chronic Illnesses” – loved reading your little reflection and going to share it on all my channels 🙂 Totally get you with the diet thing – as someone with chronic illnesses I should be more disciplined than the average person when it comes to eating well, but I am so human :p A happy early birthday to you!! And as for bike riding, that’s interesting to note the added difficulties with illness. So true that in every aspect of our lives, we need to relearn certain simple things again. x

Leave a Reply

