Ice ice baby

Standard

So speaking as someone who is always cold, and has always been cold her whole life, I really truly thought heat was what my RA craved.

I would happily sleep in flannel sheets in the summer, I wear sweaters over short sleeves year round, and that one time my heater broke, I thought I was going to die.

Additionally, my go to comfort when I’m flaring has always been the hot tub and steam room at the gym.  Seriously.  I maintain a membership at a more expensive gym simply so that I always have access to that.

So color me crazy when I couldn’t sleep the other night because I was achey…I went to fill a cup with ice to crunch on (guilty pleasure) and I spied an ice pack a friend had left in my freezer.

I saw it and something inside me said ‘try it.’  So I did and I slept like a baby.  I woke up feeling much better.  And I’ve slept every night with it since…

Moral: don’t get stuck on one idea that you think is the trick to feeling better when you haven’t explored the opposite!

4 responses »

  1. I always use ice. My physical therapist told me to use ice years ago. Heat makes things swell. Ice takes swelling down. Of course it doesn’t feel as comforting as heat but it sure works for me.

  2. HI. I CAN REALLY RELATE TO WHAT YOUR SAYING. I’V A SLIPPED DISK AND I FIND THAT HEAT REALLY INFLAMES MY MUSCLES AROUND MY BACK WHICH CAUSES MORE PAIN. I FIND THAT THE COLD REALLY HELPS THE PAIN.NOEL

  3. HI maybe if u monitor the pain you will know if u need heat or ice .I find that if the pain is mild heat works best. if the pain is severe ice is better to take the swelling down .
    Jamie

Leave a Reply

