2016 1 week check in

Standard

So…how am I doing with the addition of self love vs the subtraction of undesirable behaviors???

I am a work in progress.

The laundry from last week is folded…and sitting in my living room. The cat judges. But it’s a step in the right direction?

I’ve made it home every day this week for lunch.  I’ve also eaten breakfast everyday this week which means I don’t want to gnaw my arm everyday around roughly 10am.  Breakfast has been eggs with salsa and wilted spinach; lunch has been baked chicken with spinach and artichokes.

Stumbling blocks: freaking football!  I’m a huge Carolina Panthers fan and if we didn’t have that stupid loss to the Falcons 2 weeks ago(admittedly, we played horribly that game), we would’ve had a PERFECT season.  Like 16-0. But whatever.  If you’d told me even a year ago we’d be 15-1 with a first round bye and hometeam advantage in the playoffs, I would’ve laughed in your face. I realize I just almost lost a lot of non football readers.  Keep reading- it’s almost over, I promise!

Also, I’m quite superstitious. We were down in the first quarter last Sunday which told me that they needed me to be wearing my special shirt and drinking a glass of wine in my usual haunt so yeah…chicken wings and wine happened. 

I’m glad we have a bye week this week. 

My intention, in making the best decisions for me based on loving myself and deciding things in accordance with that, was to have a clean eating, no wine January.  But I realized in being fair to myself, the two items are not fair to me with regards to celebrating fun events with my friends.  So I am allowed, in moderation, on days with games.

That’s fair and realistic.

In other matters, I’ve had to make a very hard decision regarding rheumatologists.  I LOVE the one I see currently, but he’s an hour and a half away.  While I love him and the practice, it’s getting harder and harder to make the drive there.

Want to experience hell? Drive an hour and a half first thing in the morning on an empty stomach for fasting blood work.  As much I trust my care with them, it’s getting harder and harder to make appointments.  So there is going to be a change soon, as much as it kills me.

It’s easier for me and my fear has always been, what happens if I need an ASAP appointment because I’m not doing well? Driving that far sick won’t happen.  I’m so sad to make that change but I have good recommendations for a new practice so fingers crossed that works out.

One response »

  1. Sounds like you have a good plan. You really do have to treat yourself occasionally. My problem is once I do that I seem to fly off the rails. Good luck with your quest for a healthier you this year. Oh and the Panthers hmm…well Enjoy the playoffs. Our team was so disappointing this year that it will just be nice to watch some decent football.

Leave a Reply

