Nutrition: cleaning up the taco salad

Standard

So I don’t want to post just to write a post…and for the most part, I’m doing well.  But I also don’t want to not post.

So would you rather see cat pictures???

  

Or hear about some of the dumb things I’ve done that my rheumy would probably cringe at…

Or perhaps my space is best used by sharing some of the things that make a big difference in my personal health?

Option 1 is totally adorable.  Option 2 is…well…what it is.  Note for my rheumy: my sliding buddy in the video is an ER doctor = I was *totally* supervised.  Option 3 is probably what you want to hear about most though. 
Not that I intend to stop with the cat pics nor do I intend to stop playing in bounce house/water slides meant for children. 

For me, one of the things most crucial in maintaining my health is eating correctly. The downfall is that so many of the foods I like are so bad!  

I’m very sensitive to a variety of foods and, as I’ve mentioned before, worked with a nutritionist to identify and eliminate them.  Tops of my list are salt, processed sugars, soy, gluten, and dairy. 

So how do you still eat your faves and avoid these things? I have been trying to clean up my favorite dishes, one step at a time.

On the menu today, taco salad.

I make all my meals for the week on Sunday’s and freeze the ones for the latter part of the week.

It doesn’t take as long as you would think.

This morning, I got up, made a cup of coffee and threw 2 lbs of chicken in the crockpot with a jar of tomatillo salsa.  (Sugar free). Low for 9 hrs.  When it’s done, I’ll shred it.  I’ll put some on salads. The rest I’ll eat by itself because the flavor is that good. 

I chopped 2 green peppers and 1 onion. I browned a pound of lean ground beef and added the peppers and onions.  

While the peppers and onions cooked, I chopped three zucchini. I put them on a baking sheet, sprayed them with olive oil, a teeny tiny bit of sea salt and popped them in the oven. 20 minutes at 400.

Note: this is how I drizzle olive oil.  It’s easier for my hands and wrists to hold as well as not dump a flood of olive oil.  Available from the travel section in almost every store for roughly $1.

  
Once the zucchini was in the oven, the onions and peppers were cooked.  I added 1 can of Rotel and 1/3 cup of water.  I also added 2 tablespoons of ‘Organic Mexican Seasoning’ that I got at Whole Foods.  It’s salt free and probably pretty easy to make on your own…but it’s Sunday and I’m lazy!

Here are the ingredients:

  
I mixed everything together and covered it to cook for 10 minutes.

Instead of chips, I serve it on a bed of spinach or kale.  I topped it with some fresh cilantro from my porch.

  
I made cup of coffee #2….oh, I need to not lie.  Do over: I made cup of coffee #3 and stuffed my face!

When I was done, the zucchini were too.

  
I roast all my vegetables this way. Asparagus, brussel sprouts, artichokes, you name it. 

Later today, I’ll spend probably 5 minutes shredding the chicken.  I also have fresh spinach that I steam as a side for variety.  If I get tired of the entrees, I always have chicken sausage on hand.

All in all, I spent 45 minutes in the kitchen, most of it waiting on stuff to finish and indulging my coffee addiction.  Outside of assembling and heating meals for the rest of the week, I won’t cook again until next Sunday. 

Now…cup of coffee #4 and hopefully a good walk if it cools off some!

Note: I was not compensated for or asked directly or indirectly  to mention any of the products above. 

2 responses »

  1. Having RA for over 10 years, I have found that beef and pork make me have flare ups and lots of swelling. I was a meat eater so it was hard to cut back but I have. I do more fish and chicken now and when I’m feeling good, if the occasion calls for beef or pork I have a little. Just started reading your blog

Leave a Reply

