Off track

Standard

Do you ever feel like you’re completely off track? Disorganized, scattered, flighty, and just plain not with it?

Yeah. That’s me right now.

The (only) good part of living in a city I loathed is that I was on top of things. I worked out like an Olympian. I cooked like Emeril. I managed my financial life like a CPA.

Because there was absolutely nothing else to do. And I was SO. SO. SO. BORED. And miserable.

Fast forward six months, I’m happy again. But I’m so happy that I’m all over the place.

Just call me Tinkerbelle. With ADHD.

I’ve been soaking up city life so much: meeting friends every night, enjoying all the restaurants I’ve missed, and sometimes even just driving around taking in the beautiful city streets I’ve missed.

But it distracts me.

I’m not doing badly. I just feel like I’ve lost sight of some of the things I realized must be health priorities during my period in social purgatory. I feel like I’ve lost sight of other things I enjoy- blogging as an example- during my frantic OMG OMG PEOPLE! And things to do! And places to see!

So now… I need to find a balance. A routine.

And that, my friends, is easier said than done.

I am very selfish right now about my time. For the past two years, I spent time either by myself or with people that I just didn’t click with. So while I know that it’s supremely important for my health to eat right, work out, and get good sleep…I’m in a rut where I’m just not willing to miss a single dinner, happy hour, trivia night, you name it.

I’m not sure how to get out of it.

I realize that this may sound depressed. I am not. I’m actually very happy, just a little concerned as I’m trying to fit every piece of this in. I know exercising and eating in a specific way is critical to my health. And I’m just not sure how to balance it all right now.

3 responses »

  1. I think you need to give yourself time to readjust. Enjoy these times for what they are. You will find a groove and routine soon enough. Life is so short. Relish this time of becoming reacquainted with friends, sites, food and fun. Let the routines come again naturally. Enjoy the ride!

  2. I was recently diagnosed with RA and not being active or getting to do the things I did before has been one of the toughest adjustments. Did you meet with a physical therapist before you started working out after you were diagnosed? Thank you for your wonderful blog!

    • Hi Krystal! I hate to welcome you to the club nobody wants to be a member of. 😦 I didn’t meet with a PT at first, I talked to my rheumy about it. When my ankle started bothering me so much, I did go through PT and asked what I should do. The PT was helpful but the rheumy was in general just as helpful. Both gave me lifting restrictions- no more than 15 lbs weight in each hand.

Leave a Reply

