From a recent chat with my mom

Standard

Background info: we were discussing how we both have always been impressed with how the Harry Potter books have been translated into movies….

Mom:  I’m usually disappointed in books made into movies but even Quidditch is what I pictured when I read the book.

Me:  Oh, I know. Down to the stadium.

Mom: Even down to the Golden Snitch.  I always thought in my head it looked like a little spider and OH MY GOSH that’s it!  The spider!

Me:  Oh I know. That’s how I saw too.

Mom:  No, no!  The spider!  It was the spider! That’s what did it. That was the turning point.

Me: No, it wasn’t the spider.  It was Snape’s avada kedavra…. (it is not abnormal for our conversations to run like this…I thought I knew where she was going.)

Mom:  No!  The spider!  On the camping trip! (I can hear her wildly gesticulating through the phone.)

Me: Which book?  

Mom:  No, the camping trip Dad and I took you on when you were a toddler.  I was pregnant with your brother and we thought it would be fun.  You got bit by a spider and we had to take you to the emergency room in the middle of the night.  You were having a hard time breathing and looked like you were covered in bruises.

Me: So, we’re not talking about Quidditch anymore?

Mom:  And they had to give you a shot.  And we went back the next day for the tent and everyone there thought we’d left because I’d gone into labor.

Me: Or Harry Potter?

Mom:  It was definitely the spider! 

Me:  You have definitely lost me.

Mom:  The spider! Your RA!  I bet the spider bite is what made your immune system go wacky.

So, it appears that my mom thinks my RA was caused by a rheumatic spider bite at age 1 with no real symptoms manifesting until age 26.  Nice!

Although I think it is terribly sweet and endearing that she continues to go through my childhood illness history to try to figure out my RA, I’m more than a little hesitant to agree.  =) But I’ll let her keep doing it- I think it’s how she deals with it.

Don’t you love how everyone has a different theory?

I would be so much cooler if had it been a radioactive spider.

5 responses »

  1. Heh heh … my Mom does the same, mostly centering on my teeth (which are, admittedly, for crap), “It was that abcessed tooth!” And you are correct; it’s how they deal. Moms are AWESOME!

  2. Radioactive = SpiderWoman! You’re right. That would’ve been tres kewl.

    OTOH, maybe you would have had Radiotoid Arthritis? And while you would have been able to spin and shoot webs, you would have had a hard time swinging from building to building because it made your joints ache.

  3. Hey Amanda,

    It’s amazing how people can get so sidetracked in conversations – in a fun and amusing way! I’m a big fan of the Harry Potter movies as well.

    I’m Hua, the Director of Wellsphere’s HealthBlogger Network. I’ve been searching the web for quality health blogs and am thrilled that I found yours. There is so much information here for people with arthritis. Wellsphere visitors find relevant content and answers to their questions in one place, without having to wade through hundreds of search engine results to find what they want. We provide the platform that allows over 6 million users a month to connect, network, and find quality information.

    I think your blog would be a really great addition to the [Community] Community. I invite you to join and find more information about us at http://www.wellsphere.com/health-blogger.

    Thanks for all the hard work you put into this! Feel free to email me if you have any questions.

    Best,
    Hua
    Director of Blogger Networks
    hua [at] Wellsphere [dot] com

  4. Wow…your mother thinks you’re a comic book character. That’s awesome.

    Strangely, this reminds me of my last conversation with my father!

Leave a Reply

