Bikram Yoga

Standard

So as I said earlier, I’m looking to try some new things and one of the things I want to try most is Bikram Yoga, also known as “hot” yoga.  This type of yoga is generally done in a room with the temperature set at 105.  While it does have different poses than traditional yoga classes, it has the same structure- a focus on stretching and focusing inner strength/stillness.  

I’m super excited because I’ve signed up for a beginner’s week pass (unlimited yoga for 1 week for $20).  I called and spoke with the instructor and got even more excited to learn that she has lupus.  I know, sounds weird to be excited about lupus, but I think she understands where I’m coming from and she was very interested to hear about my RA.  

Here are a couple of articles I read- 

Arthritis Foundation/Hot Yoga Event in Canada

http://www.torontosun.com/life/healthandfitness/2009/02/16/8405606-sun.html

A little bit more background on Bikram Yoga:

http://www.articlesbase.com/yoga-articles/bikram-yoga-hot-yoga-benefits-of-hot-yoga-26-bikram-yoga-postures-179268.html

 

One response »

  1. Hey, I love your attitude about not sounding depressing. I’m close to your age and have been trying to get back into my weight lifting and tennis routine. I did do regular yoga too. I actually did a “seniors” class since the slower and steadier movement was easy on the joints. There is a Bikram Yoga place near where I live. You’ll have to post how that goes. It is a bonus that the instructor is able to really understand too. Take care!

Leave a Reply

