Lessons learned: Gratitude Challenge #2

Standard

20131102-115604.jpg

When I saw that today’s prompt was ‘lessons learned,’ I wasn’t quite sure what to be grateful for because I have learned so many lessons. Usually the hard way.

Lessons like: tequila shots are a bad idea on an empty stomach, consistently watering plants with the Cokes you didn’t finish will kill them, or attempting DIY plumping repairs when you have no actual plumbing skills will only end up costing you twice as much money.

All good pieces of advice, by the way, but lessons learned more out of oops moments rather than lessons I am truly grateful for.

And then it hit me in the face sinuses what very recent lesson I’ve learned that I am truly oh-so-grateful for.

Last Tuesday morning, I woke up with a cold. Sore throat, coughing, drainage, sinus and chest congestion oh my! Traditionally, as soon as I have all of those symptoms present, I am at the doctor’s office begging for antibiotics as it always without fail turns into a sinus infection and bronchitis. A common cold normally knocks me out for two weeks and I worry worry worry myself to pieces about it.

So last week, I realized that I simply didn’t have time to be sick, didn’t have time to go to the doctor, and had too much going on to worry myself into a frenzy about getting sicker.

I did something amazing and very much out of character: I chilled the heck out.

I have no proof that I stressed myself into sinus infections in the past but…I took cold medicine, I drank hot tea with honey and a little bit of vinegar ALL DAY, I used my nasty disgusting neti pot twice a day, I blew my nose probably 100 times a day, and drank a glass of red wine every night…for my nerves.

And guess what? It’s been a week and the cold is gone all on it’s own!

I’m grateful that I learned to just chill out and be ok with the fact that I had a cold, and that maybe if I was diligent in treating it on my own, I could avoid it becoming worse and avoid another round of doctor’s appointments and antibiotics. If nothing else, I’ve learned that having a cold doesn’t have to be so stressful.

Leave a Reply

