Amazing what a little incentive does

Standard

And March comes in like a lion…with no blog posts…and goes out like a groundhog with death threatslamb…with no blog posts. Seeing as it is now April and it was seventy degrees two days ago and then it snowed today, let’s just pretend it is still March. Also, does the Secret Service investigate assassination threats on groundhogs? If so…oops.

I’ve been busy. Good busy, bad busy, busy busy. March brought some personal read:non-bloggable bumps but with the bad comes the realization that this disease has given me some perspective on dealing with things. Perspective being that I am a lot tougher than I think I am.

Along those lines, I have a big vacation planned with some girls coming up soon. In our pre vacay prep, they are all excited about hiking up this cliff where you can see all of the island as well as St Kitts and Nevis. Instantly, I’m dying a little inside thinking that I won’t be able to do it, that I’ll be a fun sucker, and they’ll be disappointed.

I stewed and over analyzed it as I usually do and then made a different decision: I started PT and working out with a trainer.

Y’all. I JUMPED ROPE tonight. Sure, it wasn’t pretty and it was only for a minute. I hit myself in the head and the shins multiple times. But it happened! A month ago, I wouldn’t have even tried.

I’ve been working hard at building ankle strength and shoulder stability. Does it make the inflammation go down? No. But working the muscles around the joints actually feels good (after) and I’m walking and moving much easier.

Two weeks into this new regime, guess who walked a mile in sexy black boots? This gal!

It might not seem like a big deal but I haven’t been able to comfortably wear those particular boots in over a year!

Working hard at rehabbing my body is not easy. I think back to when I was diagnosed, when I was literally in the best shape of my life, and get very frustrated at how weak I have let myself become. It’s not easy pushing like this in this ‘new’ body but it makes me mad at myself when six years into this mess, I see marked benefits in mobility after only a few weeks of concentrated, supervised effort.

So. No IronMan in my future but I realize that for my body, this needs to be a priority beyond hiking on a vacation. It’s difficult yes but I’m strong enough to do it. I just didn’t know it.

5 responses »

  1. Jump roping in an inflamed state is a total victory! And a minute is a long time when you are jump roping! Woohoo! Great reminder to move it or lose it. I hate how much effort it is these days to keep things at a somewhat lousy level of function though. Way to work the boots! Sweet victory. Have a blast on your girls’ trip. Who needs a hike anyway?

  2. Good for you. It is easy to just sit down when pain affects us but it takes a lot more courage and strength to keep moving despite pain.

  3. Good on you Girl!!! I have realized what kind of belief and mindset I have had for all these decades – the first thought is “I can’t do that”. A place of No. I am working on changing to come from a place of Yes. It is only in the last few years have I been able to see the gifts, the positive changes that had come from RA. Everyone has to find their own way to work with whatever is limiting them, there is no one size fits all. I am so proud of you for persevering to be able to move as well as possible in spite of pain. I have spent many times at the end of the parade, still haven’t quite to terms with it. Have a wonderful holiday with your friends!

Leave a Reply

