Take It Back Tuesday, The Fourth

Standard

Aaaaand it’s Thursday.

Whatever. Begins with a T and ends with a day. Close enough.

So I missed this past Tuesday because I’ve taken back the art of the nap.

College ruined me on naps. In this setting, I created the expectation that a real nap requires 3 hours of sound sleep. I do believe that’s a full REM cycle. And then I’d wake up at dinner in a completely evil mood.

I don’t like being in a bad mood so I honestly haven’t taken one since unless I was sick. Sick also coincides with bad mood.

But I came home from work the other day and I was exhausted. Exhausted, achy, kinda flary. I had an hour before I had to meet a friend for a networking thing and all I wanted was to lay down on my comfy couch with my fluffy fleece blanket.

So I did!

I slept for 30 minutes and went on to my event feeling like a new person. Good mood and less achy! I’ve officially taken one every day this week.

Naps are now added into my treatment arsenal.

What are you taking back?

4 responses »

  1. I’m loving this theme of taking things back. It’s almost like you go thru some of the 12 steps when diagnosed, and ultimately you really do start conquering some of your hurdles and getting parts of your life back. I decided early on not to give in and I keep fighting and fighting the RA.

    And I love naps!! 20 or 30 minutes is ideal. Keep at it!!

  2. Good for you! I am a newcomer to “Team RA” and fortunately have quickly learned to give myself a little extra space and time to accomplish tasks, or turn down invitations when I know I already have a busy day. No guilt!

  3. Yes, Yes, and YES to the power of the nap. I don’t know about you, but when I’ve got ten million and one things to do, it’s hard to give myself permission to take a nap. It feels so … unproductive. But you’re right – if they’re not too long, they almost always help. I still wake up stiff and achy like in the mornings, but otherwise I almost always feel better. Thanks for this blog; it’s such a help.

  4. I have been taking naps for 42 years, ever since RA arrived unexpectedly – but then, I wouldn’t have extended and invitation either. One thing I found when I am drag my ass tired and can’t sleep at night because I am too tired to sleep, I take naps. Then I can rest enough to be able to sleep – those are 2 and 3 hour nap. But you have discovered the power of the 30 minute nap – it helps so much but you aren’t crabby and cranky plus still able to sleep well at night.

Leave a Reply

