Head over heels…well, no heels

Standard

Totally and completely awestruck, I am.

I totally have a new love…ZUMBA!

I’ve taken probably 4 classes now and can I just say how much fun it is?!?

For those of you not familiar with it, it’s a mix of latin, hip hop, and just plain old cardio dance.  For those of us with RA, think movements that are not very complex or heavy impact on joints and are also easily modified.  Basic synchronized booty shaking.

With fun music.

And I really like both instructors I’ve had so far.

I was having a hard time in class last night.  I was tired. I was cranky. I was sweating and oh-my-goodness was my heart pumping!  And then…

The next routine was to Outkast’s Hey Ya and all we did the whole song was shake it like a Polaroid picture.  Seriously.  I was sweating and dying and LAUGHING so hard, I thought I was going to fall over.  Just imagine a room full of 30 sweating women shaking it like that. HYSTERICAL. And…there’s really no joint strain or pain when you’re shaking it like a Polaroid picture. (Hey Polaroid, I remember when the song came out, you had to do a press release saying you’re not supposed to shake Polaroid pictures….YOU’RE WELCOME.)

And the best part at the class this weekend…I totally outdanced three whiny teenagers who were standing next to me.

I think I’ve found my new running. :)

12 responses »

  1. I’m so with you!!! I started Zumba last month and it is so much fun, and so hard, in a really great way. So far, it hasn’t aggravated any of my joints, so hoping it stays that way.

    • Me too! Are you still doing yoga? I’ve gotten lax on that. But I think doing the two a couple times a week could be really beneficial!

  2. I gotta try Zumba. I keep hearing about it, and now, I’ve heard about it from you! And you have RA! And you love it!

    Yep. Now to find a local class…

  3. I really enjoy Zumba! At first, I was hesitant to try it with my daughter and her friends not knowing what to expect, but I really got into it. It’s fun and has helped me lose weight – added bonus for me. And, I am able to keep these aging bag of bones on the go without any joint pain. Ever since I’ve incorporated Zumba and taking LifeJoint, I have enjoyed more life has to offer, pain-free. Can’t wait for class this evening. Happy dancing, all! :-)

  4. I had taken Zumba previous to my RA and have not yet felt comfortable going back, but i did find my fitness center now has Water Zumba, I definately can get back to it in the pool! I hope it will get me ready to go back to the classroom.

  5. I LOVE ZUMBA!! It changed my life! I have AS and was found of running and dancing. Zumba entered into my life and not only do I have my energy back, but my arthritis isn’t as bad, nor is my attitude. What I love about Zumba is the fact you can do it at whatever pace YOU want too! I can’t stop raving about it and talk about it in my blog! I look forward to reading many more posts about you and your Zumba adventure! Its nice to know I’m not the only one out there who has arthritis who is doing Zumba too!

Leave a Reply

