A comedy of errors

Standard

So last week I went to sunny Southern California. Sounds great, right? Except that it was for work. Oh yeah, and it rained the whole time. The icing would certainly be the VERY SHORT NOTICE I had that I would indeed be part of a presentation given to the group of several hundred people. And that I had to do so with a cold so bad that the whole time I spoke,  one of my ears was completely stopped up and I felt lopsided. But I neither cursed nor tripped so we can call that the success of the week.

I do this several times a year and usually fly back during the day on a Friday. BUT I had prior plans that weekend so had arranged to take the red eye back on Thursday with another coworker who also had to be back.

A daunting prospect, at least to me, when I’m not sick and exhausted! Add in sick and exhausted…

Sitting next to Goliath on a cross country overnight flight was not fun. Particularly because I had chosen my own bulkhead seat just for my joints enjoyment several weeks prior and wound up…without a bulkhead seat. And also because he snored loudly and TWITCHED.

Giving credit where credit is due, it was probably a crap flight for Goliath too. Poor thing. Because he got stuck next to the bitch that kept coughing and didn’t sleep except for those two occasions when he was super comfortable snoring and she, in a sudden show of COMPLETE, un-moving unconsciousness, accidently elbowed him sharply in the ribs. Because who elbows complete sleeping strangers on purpose?

Oh right. Me.

One sleepless cross country flight down with one brief flight from Newark to go and all I wanted was to just be home. But I had to encounter the creepy old guy who kept leering at the two of us and answering questions from my coworker about ‘what happened to your finger’ and ‘so you take that many pills everyday.’ Questions that normally wouldn’t bother me except that I was so tired I couldn’t put together a succinct answer. And I also had no voice at that point.

An hour and another sleepless flight got me back to Charlotte. It was 8:45 am and at that point, I’d been awake for 26 hours. I remember staying up all night in college. It felt surprisingly different back then.

On my way home, I stopped by McDonald’s to grab breakfast because I knew I had no groceries. They screwed up my order. I cried.

Almost a week later and I’m still battling the mother of all colds. I’m also stiffer than normal, most likely due to spending roughly 14 hours cramped on a plane and then taking a (painful) road trip that weekend. But I’m on antibiotics now so that shall be a distant memory soon.  I’m hoping the antibiotics calm my flaring wrists.

I do not see additional redeyes in my future!

2 responses »

  1. Wow!!! No tripping and cursing! That is awesome because I know exactly what you are talking about – RA is universal isn’t it? It must feel great to be home. Feel better soon.

Leave a Reply

