Trees and Fingers

Standard

I’m changing some things on my page (nothing major, just playing with it) and I uploaded a new header picture.  I’m a little sad that I can’t get more of the image in any of the headers so I wanted to explain why I love that picture so much.

I took this picture a year ago yesterday.  My friend and I who were both moving from Greenville, SC spent a day taking pictures around town of all of our favorite places that we would miss.  It was a blast and you can read about it here.

One of my favorite places to go there was Falls Park.  It is truly a feat of city planning- they torn down a bridge that used to cover waterfalls right in the middle of downtown, torn down several abandoned buildings also surrounding, and it completely transformed the downtown landscape.  If you build it, they will come: it changed the downtown from kind of seedy to thriving with outdoor dining, free productions of Shakespeare in the summer, art galleries, and tons of activities year round.  

Anyway, surrounding the park are several older neighborhoods with gigantic, beautiful oak trees.  All of the trees are towering and lovely but this tree is truly my favorite.  It is growing on the side of the bank with all of its gnarled roots completely exposed.  Years ago, it reminded me of a Picasso painting.  Once diagnosed, it reminded me of gnarled “RA fingers.”

I love how Picasso can take a normal image and distort it, warp, and layer it so it no longer looks normal or anything like the first image but still contains definitive elements of the normal image.  It fascinates me.  No, I’ve never liked “pretty art.”  So, I thought I was being all profound by seeing RA fingers in the roots of this tree.  Can you see it too?

I think it’s fascinating.

And then I was reading about the park online and saw a picture of the tree in said article.  The caption mentioned how so many people are so taken with this tree because despite its gnarled fully exposed root structure, the tree still thrives on the surface.

And that really spoke to me. That I thought was pretty dang cool.

5 responses »

  1. Hey, I really like the new blog design, Amanda. And I love your photo of those tree roots. I understand completely why you used them in the masthead and why they “speak” to you like they do — and not only because they remind you (and me) of RA-twisted fingers.

    Hope this finds you feeling good and enjoying this short work week…
    -Wren

  2. I love that shot. Almost as much as the day it was taken. It is metaphorical for so many things. I totally get the RA fingers. Perfect.

Leave a Reply

