Spring Cleaning Confession

Standard

Oh the things you find when you are cleaning out the closet!  And oh the things you get attached to and probably should get rid of but just can’t bring yourself to do so! 

I will be the first to admit that I sometimes get very attached to random bizarre things. A certain Lion King coffee cup I’ve had since middle school that was my first foray into “I’m so grownup that I’m going to drink coffee and be an adult dammit and you’re going to recognize it”, a pair of white denim capris that I would never wear anymore but were my “skinny” pants and keep to try on to keep myself in check, and then these…

When I was first experiencing symptoms, these were the only things that were comfortable.  And wear them I did as evidenced by the fact that they can now “smile” at you.

They were purchased as a gag Christmas gift from my brother right before he went to Iraq.  And let me tell you, I was even more attached to a number of things he gave me while he was there.  One of them being a ficus tree.  No lie.  I guess to me that if I kept them close to me (and kept the tree alive) that I felt like he wasn’t so far away and that he would be ok.  After he got back, I let the tree die and definitely lost attachment to the other things I had kept close.

But I still couldn’t get rid of these silly slippers.

Slippers logo’d with a team I don’t really root for.  Slippers with a good two inches of foam built into them.  Slippers that made my early time with RA a little more bearable.  Slippers that made me the butt of jokes with my friends.  Slippers that I haven’t worn in quite awhile because I’m not in pain anymore. Slippers that obviously mean something to me…but I’m just not sure what.

Slippers that I just put back in the closet.

5 responses »

  1. Those look so comfortable! Definitely keep em, if nothing else, they’ll remind you how far you’ve come in managing your disease.

    Plus, they’re kinda fun :)

  2. Hi,

    I work at Edelman, a public relations firm that works with the Arthritis Foundation. I wanted to let you and your readers know about one of the Foundation’s new projects: My Doc Rocks. It helps arthritis patients say thank you to special doctors by honoring them at Arthritis Walks across the country. If you have a doctor in mind or would like more information, please visit http://lmt.arthritis.org/arthritis-walk/my-doc-rocks-form.php.

    Best,
    Adam

Leave a Reply

