Amanda-1: PPO-0

Standard

For now at least.

After submitting all my paperwork (mainly 6 years proof of continuous credible coverage) to the insurance douchelord company,  I finally got the word today that I really can see the rheumatologist next week.

You see, this same company who I am now covered by (again) and I have a checkered past.  This is the carrier I was with when I was diagnosed.  So, I learned the hard way that I CANNOT go to the rheumatologist until I have all my ducks in a row because it will be a nightmare to sort out on the flip side.

I really do feel bad for their customer service reps.  I mean, it has to be a horrible job.  I would imagine that everyone who calls in is like me- ticked off.  And they can’t really do anything to help you.  And (and this is going to sound horrible) the only way to get any attention from someone who CAN help you is to not be the nicest person in the world.  And that makes me feel pretty crappy.  For the record, I do tell them that I’m not mad at them personally and I realize that they are just the messenger.  But still…

So today, the poor rep excitedly announces to me that they have all my paperwork and that I’m good to go.  Underwhelmed.

Really?  I’m not falling over with gratitude that you DID YOUR JOB and will be fulfilling your BASIC policy requirements?  After I only had to fax it 3 times?  And call multiple times after that?  And what does that really mean?  Does that mean that you’re going to pay the bills in accordance to the policy or are you going to put me through the same ordeal you have in the past?

I so wanted to shout: DO YOU NOT KNOW WHO YOU’RE DEALING WITH?  Yes, it’s me- the girl you had to reimburse 3K several years ago after you drug your feet on paying bills in a timely fashion which forced me to make the painful decision of put it on the credit card vs. let it go to collections.  And then I (gasp) continued to follow-up with you because I’m pretty sure you assumed I would just pay off the balance and forget it. But let me tell you something you probably already know: I can beat the heck out of a dead horse.

And let’s talk about lab work.  A big chunk of that bill in the past was just that.  You have this nifty little loophole where you won’t pay for labwork that’s drawn more than 5 business days OUTSIDE of the appointment.  OUTSIDE, not AFTER.  So say your doctor likes to have your current labwork in front of her AT your appointment.  Would it not make sense that she gives you orders to have it drawn 3 days before?  Which falls less than 5 business days OUTSIDE of your appointment.  But someone in your corporate office interprets it to be (and from a calendar standpoint this is correct) more than 5 business days AFTER your last appointment.  

Seriously, we fought about just that for months.  OUTSIDE vs AFTER.  And the policy says OUTSIDE.  And I WON. I call that my Elle Woods moment.

Did you like the letters I wrote to the insurance board?

I realize I sound kinda psycho about this.  But put 3K that you don’t have on a credit card with the realization that the person who’s supposed to pay for it is trying with all their might not to and see how you feel.

Very defensive.  

I am feeling better.  True to form, the finger isn’t looking so nasty but I am taking the picture with me.  I still think it may be time to switch up medications.

Oh God.  I’m going to have to start the process all over with that.  

Those poor CSR’s.

5 responses »

  1. wow! But I so know what you mean! Sometimes you have to get really defiant and *not nice* to get the ball rolling. Glad you get to see a rheumy and I hope he figures out your meds so you can start to feel better. I swear there is something in the air, it seems like everyone is flaring!

    ~Judy

Leave a Reply

