Snow Day

Standard

I should be thankful for a quiet few couch days thanks to 2-3 inches of snow.(Which from those of you who have never been to NC, you should know that I’ve actually seen people put chains on tires at mention of a hard frost.  3 inches of snow = complete shutdown.)  

I should be…but I’m not.

I have some serious cabin fever.  I hit a point this morning where I thought “I’ve cleaned and organized everything possible.  Laundry is done. Cat has all new litter and is unwilling recipient of flea treatment. DVR has been watched and cleaned out.  WHAT DO I DO NOW?”

You see, I turned down not one, not two, but THREE things I really wanted to do this weekend because right now I’m still a little fearful for my joints.  Sure, I feel better.  Sure, the meds are working.  But bottom line is that they’re still swollen and thus more susceptible to injury.

I do not like missing out on fun.

So, big fat no to kayak sledding.  Which is exactly what it sounds like.  Sledding.  Down a snowy hill.  In a kayak. (Yes, I realize I’m 30 and entirely too old to do things like this.  In my  defense, I get to play in snow maybe once a year and therefore revert to my inner 8 year old self. An 8 year old girl with a Solo cup.) I foresaw myself crashing in a huge blaze of glory and breaking my fingers.

Another big fat no to going hiking today.  Although this wasn’t as hard of a no as kayak sledding was.  It would’ve involved me getting up entirely too early for a weekend morning.  Again, I saw myself falling and catching myself with my hands.

And finally, a big fat no to simply walking through the neighborhood in the freezing rain that was pelting us.  Which killed me.  I love walking in the snow and ice.  It’s so quiet and peaceful.  If it had been just snow, I would’ve been game.  But it was not.  And yet again, my fear was….slipping and falling.

So, I sat.  Enjoyed the snow from my window and sat on the back steps with my neighbors for awhile.

Maybe we’ll get another snow in a few weeks that I can more fully enjoy.

6 responses »

  1. I live in an area that doesn’t get much snow, but we got 7 inches Friday afternoon and night. It wasn’t the snow, it was the sleet and freezing rain before the snow that made it so dangerous to drive on.

    There is no age limit on having fun. I’m 50 and even with RA do things that healthy, younger people think I’m crazy for doing. If growing up means you have to act your age, I’m never growing up.

    Sounds like you are taking care of yourself. Sometimes we have to even though we would rather be doing something else.

  2. That sucks – ugh.

    I’m at the other end of the spectrum right now – I’ve said yes to too many things and now I feel awful. It’s kind of a no-win situation.

  3. I, too, live in NC and we got about 7 inches that had a lot of folks losing their minds. I had to sit out on most of the excitement too, but keep telling myself I’ll make up for it next year!

  4. I’m hoping we all get to take part next year. Yep, I’m in Charlotte. You must be near my parents in Winston- my mom teaches and is hating all of these days off!

  5. Ooh, how frustrating for you! Sounds like the UK – 3 inches of snow = complete shutdown!

    I suppose I’m quite an indoor gal, and over Christmas/New Year when we had loads of snow and ice and I couldn’t get out I quite enjoyed the excuse to stay in. I have to say that now I’m going a bit ‘stir crazy’ wanting to get out for a PROPER walk and not having the chance. Weekend was dismal weather and I wasn’t well anyway – now it’s glorious weather and I’m stuck at work.

Leave a Reply

