ARE YOU READY FOR SOME FOOTBALL?

Standard

Last night, I went to the Panthers/Vikings game here in Charlotte.  I went, a little unenthusiastically because, let’s face it- we suck this year.  But I’ve been looking forward to this game all season mainly because I’ve always been a Brett Favre fan and didn’t want to miss a chance to see him play in person.  

Despite the fact that it was FREEZING and that I was wearing so many clothes that I felt like Ralphie’s little brother walking to school in A Christmas Story, I had so much fun because LAST NIGHT WE DIDN’T SUCK.  Shocker, right?!?  Actually, I think the newspaper this morning used the verbage “stunner.”  Whatever.  Same thing.

Anyway, I could go on and on about the morbidly obese Vikings fans who sat near us replete with Viking helmets and attached braids (B- list stripper grade hair extensions if you’re dying to know my opinion) or how well my strategy of keeping warm through numerous hot chocolates laced with obscene amounts of Bailey’s worked or how I learned that my finger joints that are effected apparently don’t like being  constricted with glove liners, gloves and a handwarmer shoved in.  But I won’t.  :)

Nor will I post the many pictures I took on my phone.  I got a really good one of Brett (we had REALLY good seats).  

But I wish my hands that were pissed at me would’ve cooperated fast enough to get the one picture on my phone that I was dying to take.  You see, during one of the breaks, there was a huge ad for the Arthritis Foundation.  HUGE.  ON SUNDAY NIGHT FOOTBALL!  I  drunkenly totally geeked out seeing it on the jumbotron!!!  But maneuvering my willfully defiant and heavily layered hands to unzip my side pocket, pull out my phone, unlock my key guard…..it just didn’t happen.

Ok, so I realize that the ad itself was tied to a corporate sponsor and only included a small blurb on what arthritis is with no mention of Rheumatoid Arthritis and that it  probably was only shown in the stadium but how cool is that!!!

I’ll take it however we can get it.  It’s a good place to start.

2 responses »

  1. It’s great that you got to get out and see your favorite team play, Amandajohn. Football is a lot more fun to watch (in my humble opinion) than baseball — there’s some action, at least! And half-time, with the bands. And it’s played in winter, so it’s cold and you can drink hot chocolate and Baileys. What a hoot!

    And great to know that the Arthritis Foundation is making good use of their funds. While I’d like to see them do a big educational campaign about RA, the fact that they had an ad in a football stadium is, as you said, a good start. Next up: TV ad time. During the Super Bowl. Now THAT would be great.

    Hope your hands won’t hurt you too much for having such a good time. Do have a very happy Christmas!

  2. I’m so glad there is more and more advertising on arthritis and even those drug-promoting ads for RA on TV…puts RA out there. I just wish they didn’t say that you take their drug and are basically running a marathon though..but hey at least its getting RA out there!

    I’m glad you got to the game. I know personally I couldn’t sit in the cold. If I did I would have to be bundled up like you! lol I’m SO ready for summertime!!!!!!! Warm sun and flip flops sound so nice to me!

Leave a Reply

