The answer is YES.

Standard

Normally, I get a huge kick out of reading the search terms that bring people to my blog.  Some of them are absolutely hilarious and  strangely inappropriate.  But today, I wish I had contact info for the one I just saw.

“Does RA ever get better?”

Yes, my friend, it does.  

It is such a shock to get a diagnosis like that.  I could expound on that forever but you all know exactly what I’m talking about.  

My first reaction to it was deny, deny, deny.  And then take a long boat ride down my favorite river in Egypt.  And then more denying!  

But eventually, once the shock wears off and the treatments kick in, you get some relief.  And once you start to get the physical relief, you can begin to search out the emotional relief.  

It is entirely possible to live a very fun and full life with rheumatoid arthritis.

So yes, it does get better.  Virtual hug!

6 responses »

  1. Amanda, I loved this post- very simple, but full of hope. Sometimes I also get these very vulnerable search questions and wish I could ‘virtual’ hug them, too.

  2. Having RA is not the end of the world, yes your world changes. You still enjoy life and those brief moments that you can do something pain free make you feel like your on top of the world now.

  3. That is good to know. I was just diagnosed. I am a guitar player and my hands are not working like I want them to…and realized they may never.

  4. But they just might! Mine started in my feet and a year after I was diagnosed, I did a 5K. Slowly. Best of luck as you start to get a handle on this- I hope your hands start cooperating!

Leave a Reply

