Three, Tres, Trois!!!

Standard

Something curious has happened to me lately and I’ve been a little nervous to mention it for fear of jinxing myself.  Several months ago, when my health insurance was cancelled by my douchy ex-employer and I had to put myself on a craptastic emergency policy that covered only $100 per month in prescription medication, I made a decision to cut some dosages in half or more so that I could make it until my new insurance with my new job picked up.  You may have noticed in my meds tab that as of April 09 I was taking:

-1 Humira injection/week

-6 methotrexate/ week

-6 sulfazine/day

-4 Aleve/day

-Prednisone prn

Well, to make a long story short, I have been taking the following for the past month and a half:

-3 sulfazine/day

-1 Humira injection/ bi-weeekly

AND I HAVEN’T HAD ANY PROBLEMS.  In fact, my joints just may feel a tiny bit better right now.  Now, this was a decision made out of necessity rather than a consultation with my dr, although I did tell my dr I wouldn’t take the mtx anymore because it tore up my stomach so bad.  The Aleve was cut because I ran out and didn’t have time to go buy more.  When I did finally get more, I realized that I hadn’t taken it in a week.

I CAN’T REMEMBER THE LAST TIME I ONLY TOOK 3 PILLS A DAY!!!!  

I do realize that this could change on RA’s whim but for right now, I’m really excited.

2 responses »

  1. hells yeah, that is awesome!!!!!!!!! good for you and my fingers are crossed that it will continue. I did the stupidly opposite thing of forgetting to take my shot mid-week, and I can tell- not horribly, but i guess a good reminder that yes, i still need two shots of enbrel a week. Enjoy the liberation of fewer pills!

Leave a Reply

